You are here

Income level - Housing Choice Voucher program

Income level - Housing Choice Voucher program

To qualify for the Housing Choice Voucher program, households must

  • Have 50 percent or less of area median income (AMI). AMI is the midpoint income for the Seattle area. It is determined by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, and means that half of the people earn more than the median, and half of the people earn less.

Households that have 30 percent or less of AMI will receive priority on the waitlist.

The limits listed below are current as of May 15, 2023, but may change without notice.

Household size
30% of AMI
50% of AMI


























A household's assets—money, property, and other goods having value—are taken into account when calculating income. The actual value of assets is not included, but income created from assets is. If a household has money in a savings account, for example, that money will not be added to income. If interest is earned from the money in the account, the interest will be considered part of annual income.